The Forbidden City the Ming and the Qing emperors lived here with with their families

  Offering comprehensive information on the Forbidden City where twenty-four emperors reigned over the country for over 500 years.
  The Forbidden City, also named the Palace Museum, shares the honor of being one of five world-famous palaces with the Palace of Versailles in France, Buckingham Palace in England, the White House in the U.S. and the Kremlin in Russia. The palace, the most magnificent and splendid palace complex in China, was listed as a World Cultural Heritage Building in 1987. It was built in the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644) and the construction of this group of buildings took fourteen years from 1406 to 1420. In the Ming Dynasty and the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911), it was the imperial palace where twenty-four emperors ascended the throne and exercised their strong power to the nation.

  The Forbidden City, completed in 1420, was home for 24 emperors of two dynasties, the Ming and the Qing (say ching) The emperors lived here with with their families, court ladies and gentlemen and servants. Inside the Forbidden City they held court sessions with government ministers to make rules, plan for wars and expeditions and met important people from other countries. No ordinary people could enter the city.